Butter chicken wanna be

IMG_8140.JPG

The plan was to make a butter chicken recipe but seems like I was missing quite a few ingredients from what I would normally use hence the “wanna be” part. Firstly I used margarine instead of butter, I then went on to find some of the spices I needed I didn’t have and I used milk instead of cream. This all sounds like a mess but it actually came out pretty well, quite delicious and tastes just like your traditional butter chicken. Oh yes instead of basmati I went on to serve it with brown rice and whole wheat rotis 🙂

Ingredients

3 tbsp Margarine

4 skinless chicken breasts cut into bite size pieces

1 onion, chopped

5 ml / 1 tsp garlic, minced

2 tbsp turmeric

2 tbsp garam masala

2 tbsp mother in law masala

1 tsp dried mixed herbs

1 tsp medium curry powder

1 tsp barbecue spice

50 g tomato paste

250 ml / 1 cup milk

Salt and pepper to taste

Coriander to garnish

Method

Melt one table spoon of margarine in a large sauce pan, add chicken breasts and fry until slightly browned and cooked. Add onions and garlic continue to fry till softened.

Add spices and the rest of the margarine, stir in the tomato paste. Cook till the chicken is tender.

Stir in milk and cook till well combined and thickened. Add salt and pepper to taste. Garnish with coriander leaves and serve.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Cassy says:

    Ok so I tried this butter chicken wanna be & guess what… Its the best thing ever. I’m adding it to my favourites.❤❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

