Malva pudding

IMG_5739.JPG

So I decided to share my hearts favourite, Malva pudding. This pudding was one of the first desserts I learnt to make back in high school. There was even a point where I made malva squares to sell for extra pocket-money . So I’ve basically mastered this recipe and over the years, I’ve changed it just a bit to suit my preference. This pudding has become a family favourite I’m actually famous for my malva haha..Anyway nothing beats that spongy caramelized texture and that cream sauce, well mine is more of a fudge sauce. Served it with some ice-cream and called it a day:) 

Ingredients

50 ml butter

125 ml castor sugar

15 ml apricot jam

1 egg

5 ml vanilla essence

5 ml vinegar

500 ml / 2 cups cake flour

10 ml baking powder

5 m salt

1 ml bicarbonate soda

250 ml milk

Sauce:

60 ml butter

250 ml brown sugar

20 ml vanilla essence

250 ml fresh cream

Method

Preheat oven to 180C. Cream butter, sugar and apricot jam together till light and fluffy. Add beaten egg with vanilla essence and vinegar.

Sift dry ingredients into to the wet mixture. Mix in milk and beat till well combined.

Grease a medium size cake tin/ oven proof dish. Bake at 180 C 20-30 minutes.

While the cake bakes prepare the sauce. Melt the butter with the sugar. Add the cream and stir till the sugar dissolves. Bring to a boil, remove from heat and add the vanilla essence.

Pour the sauce over the pudding as soon as it is removed from the oven (I poke my cake with a fork just to allow the sauce to seep in better)

And then indulge:)

Leave a Reply

